Calling it a Day

Masquerade Ball

 
Finally, after many, many long hours, layer after layer of paint, I’m finally ready to call this one done.  It’s a fun painting, full of bright colors, and a feeling of jubilation.  Can you feel the excitement, the beat of the music?  I always feel like celebrating after completing a new piece.  Especially one that challenged my imagination as much as this one has.  Why is it that the creativity simply flows some days (or weeks) and other times you have to dig so deep to get it down on paper?  Perhaps it was the difficulty of changing gears.  The abstract acrylics I have been doing have been more spontaneous, less labored.  Working on this piece, while using the bright colors was fun, I found capturing the feeling, the movement and euphoria of a party was, well, exhausting.  After all that, I sure hope you like it.  Feel free to leave a comment and let me know if you’ve encountered such difficulty and how you overcame it. 
